AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers

Area Committee Chairs

 
Handbook for Area Chairs


Committee on Apparatus

Samuel M. Sampere, Chair (2015)
    Syracuse University
    Dept of Physics
    201 Physics Bldg
    Syracuse, NY United States 13244
    Phone: (315) 443-5999; Fax: (315) 443-9103
    smsamper@syr.edu


Committee on Educational Technologies

Andrew G. Duffy, Chair (2015)
    Boston University
    Dept of Physics
    590 Commonwealth Ave
    Boston, MA United States 02215
    Phone: (617) 353-9089; Fax: (617) 353-9393
    aduffy@bu.edu


Committee on Graduate Education in Physics

Andrew J. Mason, PhD, Chair (2015)
    University of Central Arkansas
    201 Donaghey Ave
    Conway, AR United States 72035-0001
    Phone: (501) 852-0050; Fax: (501) 852-2286
    ajmason@uca.edu


Committee on History & Philosophy of Physics

Ruth H. Howes, Chair (2015)
    Ball State University
    714 Agua Fria Street
    Santa Fe, NM United States 87501
    rhowes@bsu.edu    
   
Committee website: https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/hist-phil-phys/


Committee on International Physics Education

Chandralekha Singh, Chair (2015)
    University of Pittsburgh
    Department of Physics
    3941 Ohara Street
    Pittsburgh, PA United States 15260
    Phone: (412) 624-9045; Fax: (412) 624-9163
    clsingh@pitt.edu    
   
Committee website: http://www.aapt-international.org


Committee on Laboratories

Mark E. Reeves, Chair (2015)
    George Washington University
    Dept of Physics
    725 21st St NW
    Washington, DC United States 20052
    Phone: (202) 994-6279; Fax: (202) 994-3001
    reevesme@gwu.edu


Committee on Diversity in Physics

Daniel M. Smith, Jr., Chair (2016)
    South Carolina State Univ
    PO Box 7709
    Orangeburg, SC United States 29117-0001
    Phone: (803) 536-7162
    dsmith@scsu.edu


Committee on Physics in High Schools

Elizabeth C. Holsenbeck, Chair (2015)
    Alabama State University
    915 South Jackson St
    P.O. Box 271/Science in Motion ASU
    Montgomery, AL United States 36101-0271
    Phone: (334) 229-4776
    eholsenbeck@alasu.edu


Committee on Physics in Pre-High School Education

William E. Reitz, Chair (2015)
    2921 Kent Rd
    Silver Lake, OH United States 44224
    wreitz@neo.rr.com


Committee on Physics in Two-Year Colleges

Kendra J. Sibbernsen, Chair (2015)
    Metropolitan Community College
    P.O. Box 3777
    Omaha, NE United States 68103
    ksibb@cox.net    
   
Committee website: https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/comm/


Committee on Physics in Undergraduate Education

Andrew D. Gavrin, PhD, Chair (2015)
    Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis
    Dept of Physics
    402 N Blackford St
    Indianapolis, IN United States 46202
    Phone: (317) 274-6909; Fax: (317) 274-2393
    agavrin@iupui.edu    
   
Committee website: http://www.mtholyoke.edu/~jburciag/undergradEd/index.html


Committee on Professional Concerns

Laura E. McCullough, Chair (2015)
    University of Wisconsin - Stout
    712 Broadway St S
    Dept of Physics
    Menomonie, WI United States 54751
    mcculloughl@uwstout.edu


Committee on Research in Physics Education

Hunter G. Close, Chair (2015)
    Texas State University - San Marcos
    601 University Dr
    San Marcos, TX United States 78666-4615
    Phone: (512) 245-8103; Fax: (512) 245-8233
    hgclose@txstate.edu


Committee on Science Education for the Public

Amber L. Stuver, PhD, Chair (2015)
    Caltech/LIGO Livingston
    19100 LIGO Ln
    PO Box 940
    Livingston, LA United States 70754
    Phone: (225) 686-3190; Fax: (225) 686-7189
    stuver@gmail.com


Committee on Space Science and Astronomy

Julia K. Olsen, PhD, Chair (2015)
    University of Arizona
    University of Arizona
    1501 E Speedway Blvd
    Tucson, AZ United States 85721
    Phone: (520) 621-5682
    jkolsen@email.arizona.edu    
   
Committee website: https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/spacesci-astro/


Committee on Teacher Preparation

Steven J. Maier, PhD, Chair (2015)
    Northwestern Oklahoma State University
    709 Oklahoma Blvd
    Science Bldg 107-B
    Alva, OK United States 73717-2799
    Phone: (580) 327-8562; Fax: (580) 327-8556
    sjmaier@nwosu.edu


Committee on the Interests of Senior Physicists

David M. Cook, Chair (2015)
    Lawrence University
    Dept of Physics
    711 E Boldt Way SPC 24
    Appleton, WI United States 54911-5699
    Phone: (920) 832-6721; Fax: (920) 832-6962
    david.m.cook@lawrence.edu


Committee on Women in Physics

Geraldine L. Cochran, Chair (2015)
    Rochester Institute of Technology
    138 Lomb Memorial Drive
    SAU 2312
    Rochester, NY United States 14623
    Phone: (585) 475-2918
    glcsps@rit.edu    
   
Committee website: http://www.aapt.org/aboutaapt/organization/women.cfm