AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 
 

Committee Members

Daniel E. Beeker, Chair (2018)
Indiana Univ - Bloomington
Indiana University - Physics
727 East Third Street
Bloomington, IN United States 47405
Phone: (812) 855-5903; Fax: (812) 855-5533
debeeker@indiana.edu

Tara A. Peppard, Vice Chair (2018)
Cleveland State Univ
2121 Euclid Avenue
SI-120
Cleveland, OH United States 44115
Phone: (216) 687-2076
t.peppard@csuohio.edu

Scott Dudley (2019)
TASIS England
Coldharbour Ln
Thorpe, Egham, United Kingdom TW20 8TE
scottcolton@msn.com

Stephen H. Irons (2020)
Yale University
217 Prospect St
PO Box 208120
New Haven, CT United States 06520
Phone: (203) 432-3664; Fax: (203) 432-6175
stephen.irons@yale.edu

David Kardelis (2018)
Utah State University Eastern
451 E 400 N
Physics Dept
Price, UT United States 84501
david.kardelis@usu.edu

Mark F. Masters (2019)
IPFW
2101 Coliseum Blvd E
Fort Wayne, IN United States 46805
Phone: (260) 481-6153; Fax: (260) 481-6880
masters@ipfw.edu

Jessie A. Petricka (2018)
Gustavus Adolphus Coll
800 W Coll Ave
Saint Peter, MN United States 56082-1498
petrickj@gmail.com

Gregory W. Putman (2020)
Kent State Univ - Main Campus
Po Box 5190
Dept of Physics, Smith Hall, Rm 103
Kent, OH United States 44242
Phone: (330) 672-8734; Fax: (330) 672-2959
gputman1@kent.edu

Samuel M. Sampere (2020)
Syracuse University
Dept of Physics
201 Physics Bldg
Syracuse, NY United States 13244
Phone: (315) 443-5999; Fax: (315) 443-9103
smsamper@syr.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3310; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rsweeney@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Committee on Apparatus

Samuel M. Sampere (2015)

David P. Maiullo (2016)

James J. Lincoln (2016)

 

Mission

  1. Inform the AAPT membership about current techniques for the construction, maintenance, and utilization of instructional apparatus.
  2. Seek new and forgotten techniques for presenting ideas in physics through lecture demonstrations and laboratory exercises.
  3. As authorized by the Executive Board, conduct events such as the apparatus competition to recognize, reward, and publicize contributions to physics teaching through lecture demonstrations and laboratory exercises.