2019 Winter Meeting Award Winners

Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT

- Janelle Bailey, Temple University
- Sherry Savrda, Seminole State College of Florida
- Robert Teese, Rochester Institute of Technology
- Aaron Titus, High Point University

Oersted Medal

Gay Stewart, West Virginia University

Melba Newell Phillips Medal

Jack Hehn

2019 Winter Meeting Plenary Speakers

Kip Stephen Thorne is an American theoretical physicist and Nobel laureate, known for his contributions in gravitational physics and astrophysics.

Michelle Feynman is the daughter of Richard Feynman, an American theoretical physicist. A graduate of Art Center College of Design, Michelle is a freelance photographer and spends most of her days taking pictures. She is perhaps best known as the editor of Perfectly Reasonable Deviations from the Beaten Track: The Letters of Richard P. Feynman, a collection of letters to and from her father.

2018 Andrew Gemant Award

David E. Kaplan received his Ph.D. from the University of Washington in 1999. He had postdocs at the University of Chicago/Argonne National Lab and SLAC and joined the faculty at Johns Hopkins in 2002. Kaplan discovers possible theoretical extensions to the standard model of particle physics and cosmology, and then novel ways to discover those and other models. Kaplan is a Fellow of the APS, and has been named an Outstanding Junior Investigator by the DOE, a Kavli Frontiers Fellow of the NAS and an Alfred P. Sloan Fellow. He has also created and produced the documentary film, "Particle Fever," for which he has won a DuPont Journalism Award, and other accolades.