Traveling Team    The Team    Semi-finalists    Coaches    Contacts    Sponsors    AAPT Home
Daily Team Updates    Camp Photos    Int'l Program    Camp Schedule    Physics_Team Home
About the Coaches

Academic Director
Robert H. Shurtz
Robert H. Shurtz - Academic Director - Physics teacher at Hawken School, Gate Mills, OH. He has been a source of many past team members. Shurtz has been a coach since 2001.
Andrew Lin
Andrew Lin - 2006 Coach - Yale student and silver medalist in 1998 and gold medalist in 1999. Lin was a junior coach from 2001 through 2003, and coach since 2004.
Paul Stanley
Paul Stanley - 2006 Senior Coach - Physics and Astronomy Associate Professor at Beloit College. His research involves classical and quantum chaos, and varies between highly theoretical, heavily computational, and playfully experimental. In his spare time he plays the trumpet semi-professionally and writes undergraduate physics textbooks. Stanley has been a coach since 2003.
Boris Zbarsky
Boris Zbarsky - 2006 Coach - Graduate student in mathematics at the University of Chicago. Was also physics team coach from 1999 to 2000 - In his spare time, he's involved in the Mozilla project. Team member in 1996 and gold medalist in 1997.
Junior Coach
Emily Russell
Emily Russell
Emily Russell - 2006 Junior Coach - Team member in 2002 and 2003, traveling to Taiwan and winning a silver medal (and award for best female) in 2003
Lab Coach
Warren Turner
Warren Turner - 2006 Lab Coach - Associate Professor at Westfield State College in Massachusetts. Turner has been with the team since 1999 as a coach, and senior lab coach since 2001.
Shaela Jones
Shaela Jones - 2006 Assistant Lab Coach - Graduate student at the University of Maryland and research assistant in solar physics at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center. She has been an assistant lab coach since 2005.