program_wb_i - page 20

2014 Homer L. Dodge Citations for Distinguished Service to AAPT
Joe Heafner
Catawba Valley
Community College
Paul J. (Joe) Heafner
Paul J. (Joe) Heafner
is Instructor of Astronomy and Physics at Catawba Valley Community College,
Hickory, NC. He earned his Master of Science degree in physics at the University of North Carolina at
Greensboro and his BA in astronomy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
An AAPT member since 2000, Heafner has been active in the North Carolina Section, and has served
on the AAPT Committee on Space Science and Astronomy, chairing the committee in 2013. He served
on the Programs Committee in 2013 and is an active member of the Committee on Physics in Two-year
Heafner has volunteered to serve on the Social Media Engagement Team helping to tweet information
about AAPT’s recent meetings as well as presenting workshops and papers at numerous AAPT and NCS-
AAPT conferences.
Monday, July 28, 10:30 a.m.–12 p.m. •
Northrop Auditorium
Established in 1953 and renamed in recognition of AAPT founder Homer L. Dodge in 2012, the Homer L.
Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT is presented to members in recognition of their excep-
tional contributions to the association at the national, sectional, or local level.
Dyan Jones
Dyan Jones
, Assistant Professor of Physics at Mercyhurst University, Erie, PA, has been an active member
of AAPT for nearly a decade. She did her undergraduate work at Edinboro University of PA, which is
where she attended her first AAPT regional meeting. She graduated from Edinboro with a bachelors in
theoretical physics in 1999. Following graduation she started her graduate studies at Miami University,
working with Dr. Perry Rice on theoretical cavity QED. Jones received her MS in Physics in 2005.
While she loved theoretical quantum physics, she preferred being in the classroom and went on to doc-
toral studies at Kansas State University under the advisement of Dr. Dean Zollman in the physics educa-
tion research group. She received her PhD in 2009. Jones has served as a member, Vice Chair, and Chair
of the AAPT Committee on Professional Concerns, as a member and Chair of the Nominating Commit-
tee, and as a Committee Member of the Committee on Physics in Undergraduate Education. She serves
as a member of the AAPT Membership & Benefits Advisory Committee and is active in the Western
Pennsylvania Section as the Section Representative.
Dyan Jones
Mercyhurst University
Martha Lietz
Matha Lietz
, a National Board Certified Teacher (Adolescents and Young Adults: Science-Physics) has
her MS in Physics from Carnegie Mellon University. She teaches science at Niles West High School in
Skokie, IL, and serves as an AP Consultant for the College Board and Educational Testing Service.
A member of AAPT since 1989, Lietz has served on the Committee of Computers in Physics Educa-
tion, the Committee on Educational Technologies, the Committee on Physics in High Schools, and as
a member of the Editorial Board for The Physics Teacher. She has also served as President and Section
Representative for the Chicago Section. Lietz has presented workshops at AAPT national meetings, local
section meetings, through the PTRA program and for the College Board. She has presented numerous
papers and published articles in
The Physics Teacher.
Martha Lietz
Niles West High School
Evelyn Restivo
Evelyn Restivo
has been an active member of AAPT since 1985 serving as a role model for pre-service
and inservice teachers through many different venues. She teaches students at all levels from high school
through college in both chemistry and physics. She has worked tirelessly for PTRA, TSAAPT, and AAPT
through countless workshops as both a leader and a co-presenter. Her career as a science teacher started
in 1969, following her graduation from Central State College, Edmond, OK, with BSE in Natural Science.
She has taught Biology, Chemistry, Geology, and Physics in Oklahoma, Tennessee, Georgia, and Texas.
She continued her education, earning her MEd in 2001 at Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas.
A dedicated contributor to physics teaching in Texas for decades, she has served the Texas Section as
President and as the TSAAPT liaison to Science Teachers Association of Texas. She has presented the
Physics strand annually at the Conference for the Advancement of Science Teaching, a gathering of
several thousand science teachers in Texas. She has also been a major contributor to Quarknet. In 2012,
Restivo was the recipient of the Texas Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers Katherine
Mays Award for Outstanding Contributions to Physics Education.
Evelyn Restivo
Maypearl, TX
1...,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19 21,22,23,24,25,26,27,28,29,30,...170
Powered by FlippingBook