AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
AAPT's first President, Homer L. Dodge.

Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT

Established in 1953 and renamed in recognition of one of the AAPT founders, Homer L. Dodge in 2012, the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT is presented to members in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the association at the national, sectional, or local level. Citations are presented at AAPT Summer and Winter Meetings and include an Award Certificate and a copy of the individual citation. Self-nomination is not appropriate for this award.  Learn more about the inspiring life of Homer L. Dodge.

Homer L. Dodge in AAPT history.

Nomination Form

Award Winners

Listed below are previous recipients of the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT.

Winter 2016

  • Marina Milner-Bolotin, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Michael Faleski, Delta College, Bay City, MI
  • David Weaver, Chandler-Gilbert Community College, Chandler, AZ
  • Gay Stewart, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV
  • Karl Mamola, Appalachian State University, Boone, NC

Summer 2015

  • Kathleen Harper, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
  • Jill Marshall, University of Texas, Austin, TX
  • Marie Plumb, Jamestown Community College, Jamestown, NY
  • Scott Schultz, Delta College, Midland, MI
  • Albert Thompson, Ponderosa High School, Parker, CO

Winter 2015

  • David Cook, Lawrence University, Appleton, WI
  • Andrew D. Gavrin, Indiana University - Purdue University, Indianapolis, IN
  • Tommi Holsenbeck, Alabama State University, Montgomery, AL
  • Elisha Huggins, Physics 2000.Com, Dover NH

Summer 2014

  • Paul J. (Joe) Heafner,  Catawba Valley Community College, Hickory, NC
  • Dyan Jones, Mercyhurst University, Erie, PA
  • Martha Lietz, Niles West High School, Skokie, IL
  • Evelyn Restivo, Maypearl, TX

Winter 2014

  • Jan Mader, Great Falls High School, Great Falls, MT
  • Taha Mzoughi, Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw, GA
  • Gabriel Spalding, Illinois Wesleyan University, Bloomington, IL
  • Lee Trampleasure, Carondelet High School, Concord, CA

Summer 2013

  • Dan Phelps, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC
  • Bob Powell, University of West Georgia, Carrollton, GA

Winter 2013

  • Stanley Micklavzina
  • Sarah (Sam) McKagan
  • A. James (Jim) Mallmann

AAPT Distinguished Service Citation Recipients (awarded prior to name change).

Summer 2012

  • Eugenia Etkina, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ
  • Jose (JD) D. Garcia, University of Arizona, Tuscon, AZ
  • Chandralekha Singh, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

Winter 2012

  • Elizabeth Chesick, Baldwin School, Haverford, PA
  • Peter Hopkinson, Vancouver Community College, Burnaby, BC
  • Jan Tobochnik, Kalamazoo College, Kalamazoo, MI

Summer 2011

  • Andrew C. Isola, Allegan High School, Allegan, MI
  • Todd Leif, Cloud County Community College, Concordia, KS
  • John L. Roeder, The Calhoun School, New York City, NY
  • R Steven Turley, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT

Winter 2011

  • Dwain M. Desbien, Estrella Mountain Community College
  • Jane Bray Nelson, Santa Fe College
  • Gordon Ramsey, Loyola University
  • Sam Sampere, Syracuse University

Summer 2010

  • Chris Chiaverina, New Trier High School
  • Harvey Leff, Cal Poly State University
  • Sanjay Rebello, Kansas State University

Winter 2010

  • Karen Williams, East Central University
  • Patrick Whippey, The University of Western Ontario
  • Beverly T. Cannon, Highland Park High School

Summer 2009

  • Alan Gibson, Connect2Science
  • David Maiullo, Rutgers, The State University of new Jersey
  • Bruce Mason, University of Oklahoma
  • Mary Winn, Hillsborough County FL Schools
  • Mel Steinberg, Smith College (posthumously)

Winter 2009

  • Paul Hickman, science education consultant, Andover, MA
  • Charles Holbrow, Dana Professor of Physics Emeritus at Colgate University and Adjunct Professor at MIT,Boston, MA
  • Bob Shurtz, Hawken School, Solom, OH
  • Gary White, American Institute of Physics, College Park, MD
  • Courtney Willis, University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, CO

Summer 2008

  • Dean Baird, Rio Americano High School, Sacramento, CA
  • Anne Cox, Eckerd College, St. Petersburg, FL
  • Karen Jo Matsler, Education, Assessment, and Training, Inc. and Dallas Baptist University, Dallas, TX
  • Harry Manos, Los Angeles City College, Los Angeles, CA
  • Steve Shropshire, Idaho State University, Pocatello, ID
  • Richard Zitto, Youngstown State University, Youngstown, OH

Winter 2008

  • Dewey Dykstra, Boise State University
  • Andrew Jackson Graham, Jr., Appalachian State University, deceased, March 2008
  • Tom Senior, New Trier High School, Illinois
  • Chuck Stone, Colorado School of Mines
  • Barbara Wolf and Jonathan Reichert, TeachSpin
  • Mike Wolter, Muncie Indiana Community Schools, deceased, September 2007


  • Robert Beichner, North Carolina State University
  • Paul Stokstad, PASCO scientific
  • Christine and David Vernier, Vernier Software
  • John Mallinckrodt, California State Polytechnic University
  • Deborah Rice, Kirkwood High School, St. Louis, MO


  • Mario Belloni, Davidson, NC
  • Andria Erzberger, Oakland, CA
  • Steven Iona, Denver, CO
  • Zigmund Peacock, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Gregory Puskar, Morgantown, WV
  • Frieda Stahl, Pasadena, CA


  • Patricia Allen, Boone, NC
  • George Amann, Rhinebeck, NY
  • David Maloney, Fort Wayne, IN
  • Robert H. Romer, Amherst, MA


  • Lila Adair, Monroe, GA
  • Jennifer Hickman, Boston, MA
  • Ruth Howes, Milwaukee, WI
  • James Watson, Muncie, IN
  • Nancy Watson, Muncie, IN


  • Patrick Callahan, Center Valley, PA
  • Wolfgang Christian, Davidson, NC
  • Alexander Dickison, Sanford, FL
  • Larry Martin, Chicago, IL (posthumously)
  • Richard C. Smith, Pensacola, FL


  • Joseph Drenchko, Syracuse, NY
  • John Fitzgibbons, Cazenovia, NY
  • C. Harry Knowles, Blackwood, NJ
  • David Ohlde, Pratt, KS
  • William Ploughe, Columbus, OH


  • Clarence A. Bakken, Palo Alto, CA
  • Richard E. Berg, College Park, MD
  • Jack G. Hehn, College Park, MD
  • Evelyn T. Patterson, Colorado Springs, CO
  • Richard J. Reimann, Boise, ID


  • Ann Brandon, Chicago Heights, IL
  • William Franklin, Waco, TX
  • Sandra Harpole, Mississippi State, MS
  • Mary Mogge, Pomona, CA
  • Gerald Taylor, Harrisonburg, VA

1999-1953 Download PDF