AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
Committee on the Interests of Senior Physicists
 
 

Thomas B. Greenslade, Committee Chair (2016)
Kenyon College
Dept of Physics
Gambier, OH United States 43022
greenslade@kenyon.edu

Thomas L. O'Kuma, Vice Chair (2016)
Lee College
Physics Dept
PO Box 818
Baytown, TX United States 77522-0818
Phone: (281) 425-6522; Fax: (281) 425-6425
tokuma@lee.edu

Lila M. Adair (2018)
Piedmont College
7541 Fieldstone Way
Monroe, GA United States 30656
Phone: (770) 266-6168
adairtlj@mindspring.com

Ann M. W. Brandon (2016)
Joliet West High School
401 N Larkin Ave
Joliet, IL United States 60436
brandon3912@wowway.com

Charles H. Holbrow (2017)
Mass. Institute of Technology 6-205
77 Massachusetts Ave
Cambridge, MA United States 02319
cholbrow@colgate.edu

John L. Hubisz (2016)
North Carolina State University
Physics Dept
Box 8202
Raleigh, NC United States 27695-8202
Phone: (919) 515-2515; Fax: (919) 515-6538
hubisz@ncsu.edu

Richard J. Jacob (2017)
Arizona State University
Dept of Physics
5934 S Bonarden Ln
Tempe, AZ United States 85283
Phone: (480) 965-7115; Fax: (480) 965-7954
richard.jacob@asu.edu

Karl C. Mamola (2018)
Appalachian State University
525 Rivers St - Rm 221
ASU Box 32142 - Physics & Astronomy
Boone, NC United States 28608-2142
Phone: (828) 262-2440
mamolakc@appstate.edu

Roger H. Stuewer (2017)
University of Minnesota
School of Physics and Astronomy
116 Church St SE
Minneapolis, MN United States 55455
Phone: (612) 624-8073; Fax: (612) 624-4578
rstuewer@physics.umn.edu

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3325; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rballentine@aapt.org

 

Mission Statement
The role of the AAPT Committee on the Interests of Senior Physicists is to make the talents and experience of senior AAPT members available to AAPT and to provide a forum in which those members can explore interests and concerns unique to that segment of the AAPT membership. To those ends, the Committee will:

  1. Promote and foster the continued engagement of senior physicists with the AAPT in particular and with the physics community in general.
  2. Provide the AAPT with the expertise and experience of its members.
  3. Sponsor sessions and activities at national AAPT meetings that reflect the interests and expertise of its members and that serve the interests of the general AAPT membership.
  4. Organize or promote programs, opportunities, and activities of particular interest to senior physicists and to those who are looking to undergo age-determined changes in career emphases in the near future.
  5. Work with the AAPT to improve physics education and science literacy within schools at all levels and among the general public.
  6. Provide opportunities for senior physicists to meet regularly to renew collegial relationships.