AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Benjamin M. Zwickl, Chair (2017)
Rochester Institute of Technology
School of Physics & Astronomy
84 Lomb Memorial Dr
Rochester, NY United States 14623-5603
Phone: (585) 475-4512
benjamin.m.zwickl@rit.edu

Mary Ann H. Klassen, Vice Chair (2017)
Swarthmore College
Dept of Physics/Astronomy
500 College Ave
Swarthmore, PA United States 19081
Phone: (610) 328-8384; Fax: (610) 328-7895
mklasse1@swarthmore.edu

Robert Hobbs (2017)
Bellevue College
3000 Landerholm Circle SE
L-200
Bellevue, WA United States 98007
Phone: (425) 564-3154
rhobbs@bellevuecollege.edu

Stephen A. Lindaas (2017)
Minnesota State University - Moorhead
1104 7th Ave S
Moorhead, MN United States 56563-2996
Phone: (218) 477-4268; Fax: (218) 477-2290
lindaas@mnstate.edu

Michelle Milne (2019)
18952 E.Fisher Road
St. Mary'S City, MD United States 20686-3001
Phone: (240) 895-4329
mlmilne@smcm.edu

Jonathan R. Mumford (2019)
Johns Hopkins University
3400 N Charles St - 366 Bloomberg Ctr
Physics Dept
Baltimore, MD United States 21218-2680
Phone: (410) 516-5183
reid@pha.jhu.edu

Steve Spicklemire (2018)
340 N Whittier Place
Indianapolis, IN United States 46219
Phone: (317) 788-3313; Fax: (317) 788-3569
spicklemire@uindy.edu

Robert J. Weber (2019)
St. Augustine High School
3266 Nutmeg Street
San Diego, CA United States 92104
Phone: (619) 282-2184
bweber@sahs.org

Ralf Widenhorn (2018)
Portland State University
1719 SW 10th #134
Dept of Physics PO Box 751
Portland, OR United States 97201
ralfw@pdx.edu

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rballentine@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Committee on Laboratories

Nancy Beverly (2014)

Mark E. Reeves (2015)

Heather Lewandowski (2016)

 

Mission

  1. To provide a focal point (forum) for communication and unification of laboratory topics and activities of mutual interest to area committees, to high school teachers, to two-year College teachers and to University teachers. This shall include but not be limited to the dissemination of information about innovative ideas, technology, and techniques pertaining to physics laboratories.
  2. To promote cooperation, discussion and coordination among pre-high school, high school, two and four-year College, and University teachers as they define the nature and Department of the physics laboratories necessary to build a reasonable foundation for successive levels of student achievement in physics.
  3. To provide assistance to the Executive Board and AAPT Council in developing policy statements and recommendations A) on the importance and use of the laboratory in physics education and teaching at all levels, and B) on safety issues related to laboratories.
  4. To stimulate the development of new or improved apparatus and experiments for physics laboratories.
  5. To provide guidance and support for the professional development of all laboratory personnel, including A) faculty, B) teaching assistants, and C) professional resource managers.