AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Committee Members

Michael R. Gallis, Chair (2018)
Penn State University - Schuykill
Penn State Schuylkill
200 University Dr
Schuylkill Haven, PA United States 17972
Phone: 570-385-6053; Fax: 570-385-6105
mrg3@psu.edu

Jacquelyn J. Chini, Vice Chair (2018)
University of Central Florida
4000 Central Florida Blvd
Physics Dept
Orlando, FL United States 32816
jacquelyn.chini@ucf.edu

Jacquelyn J. Chini (2019)
University of Central Florida
4000 Central Florida Blvd
Physics Dept
Orlando, FL United States 32816
jacquelyn.chini@ucf.edu

Brian Holton (2020)
18 Corey Ave.
Mt. Olive, NJ United States 07836
Phone: (732) 309-5515
brian@holtonsworld.com

Kenneth J. Lonnquist (2020)
Colorado State University
Physics Department
1875 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO United States 80523
Phone: (970) 491-2540
kennlonnquist@gmail.com

Jasjit Mangat (2019)
9 Thorn Briar Lane
Burlington, NJ United States 08016
jasjitm23@yahoo.com

Brian A. Pyper (2019)
Brigham Young University - Idaho
Dept of Physics
116 ROM
Rexburg, ID United States 83460-0520
Phone: (208) 496-7744; Fax: (208) 496-5925
pyperb@byui.edu

Chuck Winrich (2018)
Babson College
231 Forest Street
Kriebel 203
Babson Park, MA United States 02457-0310
Phone: 781-239-5583
cwinrich@babson.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3310; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rsweeney@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Amber L. Stuver, PhD (2015)

Philip W. Hammer (2015)

Richard Gelderman (2017)

 

Mission

  1. Seek ways in which physics concepts, the importance of science literacy and research, and the interaction between science and society, can be effectively conveyed to the public, of all ages and persuasions in both formal and informal educational settings.
  2. Aid     in keeping the AAPT membership informed of the importance of communicating     science and an enthusiasm for science to the public, and of effective     means for doing so.