AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers

Committee on Teacher Preparation

Mission Statement
The role of the AAPT Committee on Teacher Preparation is to influence policy and activities within the AAPT that foster improvement of physics teacher preparation based on the research in physics learning and the physics teaching experience of the AAPT membership. The Committee will:
  1. Provide a forum and support the continued development of a strong and diverse coalition of institutions committed to using inquiry-based, problem-solving, and active-learning strategies in science courses they provide for secondary and elementary teachers of physics.
  2. Sponsor and co-sponsor sessions, workshops, and other activities to make AAPT members and the broader educational community aware of programs that produce teachers who better understand physics and how to teach it so that ALL students can experience physics as an important, engaging, and exciting activity.
  3. Offer assistance in the development of program standards and selection of curriculum for teacher preparation programs. Support AAPT sections in regional or state efforts related to certification/licensure, program requirements, and physics content tests for teachers of physics.
  4. Increase communication, collaboration, cooperation, and joint sponsorship of interactions with other national organizations that have improving teacher preparation as part of their organization's stated mission to share findings and experiences and to exchange constructive critical examination of the physics teacher preparation process.
  5. Develop a strong, working committee with wide representation from other area AAPT committees and liaisons from other organizations to expand and share the work of the committee in AAPT and beyond.

2014 Annual Committee Report
2013 Annual Committee Report
2012 Annual Committee Report
2011 Annual Committee Report
2010 Annual Committee Report
2009 Annual Committee Report
2008 Annual Committee Report
2007 Annual Committee Report
2006 Annual Committee Report
2005 Annual Committee Report


Wendy K. Adams, Committee Chair (2016)
University of Northern Colorado
501 20th St
Greeley, CO United States 80639-6900
Phone: (970) 539-6154; Fax: (970) 352-3506

David Rosengrant, Vice Chair (2016)
Kennesaw State University
1000 Chastain Road
MD 1202 LB Bldg 17 Room 240
Kennesaw, GA United States 30144-5591
Phone: (301) 523-5621; Fax: (770) 423-6625

Gordon J. Aubrecht (2018)
The Ohio State University
Dept of Physics
1465 Mt Vernon Ave
Marion, OH United States 43302-5695
Phone: (740) 725-6250; Fax: (614) 292-5817

Cathy Mariotti Ezrailson (2016)
University of South Dakota
1301 Over Drive
Vermillion, SD United States 57069
Phone: (605) 677-5832; Fax: (605) 677-3201

David W. Hembroff (2018)
255 FFA Drive
Kalispell, MT United States 59901
Phone: (406) 752-4400; Fax: (406) 755-4061

Nancy A. Moreau (2017)
Northampton Community College
10 Lydia Dr
Wappingers Falls, NY United States 12590
Phone: (570) 688-4186

Homeyra R. Sadaghiani (2017)
California State Polytechnic Univ - Pomona
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
3801 W Temple Ave
Pomona, CA United States 91768-2557
Phone: (909) 869-5194

John C. Stewart (2017)
University of Arkansas At Fayetteville
Dept of Physics
Fayetteville, AR United States 72701
Phone: (479) 445-2522

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845