AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Homepage
https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/spacesci-astro/

Amber L. Stuver, Chair (2018)
Caltech/LIGO Livingston
19100 LIGO Ln
PO Box 940
Livingston, LA United States 70754
Phone: (225) 686-3190; Fax: (225) 686-7189
stuver@ligo-la.caltech.edu

Benjamin G. Jenkins, Vice Chair (2018)
University Of West Georgia
1601 Maple St
Department of Physics
Carrollton, GA United States 30118-0001
Phone: (678) 839-4096
bjenkins@westga.edu

William A. Dittrich (2019)
Portland Community College
PO Box 19000
Portland, OR United States 97280-0990
Phone: (971) 722-4417; Fax: (971) 722-8020
tdittric@pcc.edu

Benjamin G. Jenkins (2018)
University Of West Georgia
1601 Maple St
Department of Physics
Carrollton, GA United States 30118-0001
Phone: (678) 839-4096
bjenkins@westga.edu

Matthew P. Perkins (2018)
Indiana Univ Purdue Univ - Ft Wayne
2101 E Coliseum Blvd
Fort Wayne, IN United States 46805-1499
matthewperkins@hotmail.com

Gregory Puskar (2020)
West Virginia University
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
PO Box 6315
Morgantown, WV United States 26506
Phone: (304) 293-4909; Fax: (304) 293-5732
gpuskar@wvu.edu

Stephanie J. Slater (2018)
Center for Physics & Astronomy Educ/Res
604 South 26th Street
Laramie, WY United States 82070
Phone: (520) 975-3826
stephanie@caperteam.com

Kristen Thompson (2020)
Davidson College
Physics Department
Box 7133
Davidson, NC United States 28035
Phone: 704-894-3131
krthompson@davidson.edu

Shannon D. Willoughby (2019)
Montana State Univ
Physics Dept
PO Box 173840
Bozeman, MT United States 59717
Phone: (406) 994-1673; Fax: (406) 994-4452
shannon.willoughby@montana.edu

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3325; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rballentine@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Julia K. Olsen, PhD (2015)

Donald Andrew Smith, PhD (2016)

Kristi D. Concannon (2017)

 

Mission

  1. To strengthen and maintain contacts with national organizations concerned with space science and astronomy and the teaching thereof.
  2. To provide AAPT members with a perspective on current space science and astronomy research through "Frontiers in Space Science and Astronomy" sessions.
  3. To promote excellence in teaching astronomy by:
    1. Sponsoring hands-on workshops that introduce the latest in computer software and observational techniques taught in labs.
    2. Holding sessions that provide information on resources for teaching materials; on successful and unsuccessful curricula developments; on research in teaching; and on the interrelationships between astronomy and other disciplines.
    3. Working with sister committees to promote areas of joint interest.