AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers


Committee Members

Thomas Carter, Chair (2018)
College of DuPage
Natural Science
425 Fawell Blvd
Glen Ellyn, IL United States 60137-6599
Phone: (630) 942-3346

Gregory Mulder, Vice Chair (2018)
Linn-Benton Community College
6500 Pacific Blvd
Ste 103
Albany, OR United States 97321
Phone: (541) 917-4744; Fax: (541) 917-4755

Glenda Denicolo (2018)
Suffolk County Community College - Ammerman Campus
533 College Road
Dept. Physical Sciences
Selden, NY United States 11784-2899
Phone: (631) 451-4535

Nathan Quarderer (2018)
Northeast Iowa Community College
1625 Hwy 150 South
Calmar, IA United States 52132
Phone: (563) 562-3263; Fax: (563) 562-4357

Arlisa L. Richardson (2019)
Chandler-Gilbert Community College
7360 East Tahoe Ave
Mesa, AZ United States 85212
Phone: (480) 560-2376

Negussie Tirfessa (2019)
Manchester Comm Coll
60 Krawski Dr
South Windsor, CT United States 06074-3843
Phone: (860) 512-2731

Christopher J. Ubing (2018)
10752 Pierson St
Westminster, CO United States 80021

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
Office of the Executive Officer
Associate Executive Officer
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845

Sherry L. Savrda, Ex Officio
Seminole State College of Florida
100 Weldon Blvd
Physical Science Dept
Sanford, FL United States 32773-6199

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845

Past Chairs

Kendra J. Sibbernsen (2015)

C. Dianne Phillips (2016)

Paul J. Heafner (2017)



1. Provide a common meeting ground and opportunities for communication for two-year college teachers of physics and astronomy.

2. Explore topics of professional concern to two-year college teachers, including the framework of conditions and extra-classroom activities that affect the teacher and educational process.

3. Cooperate with the High School and Professional Concerns

4. Committees on professional topics of mutual concern.

5. Cooperate with the Undergraduate Education Committee on courses and curricula and on matters related to articulation for students transferring between institutions.

6. Make recommendations, through the Review Board and Executive Board, to the AAPT Council and membership, for activities that would be helpful to physics education and physics teachers.