AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Homepage

https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/comm/

C. Dianne Phillips, Committee Chair (2016)
NorthWest Arkansas Community College
One College Drive
Bentonville, AR United States 72712
Phone: (479) 313-7737
dphillips@nwacc.edu

Paul J. Heafner, Vice Chair (2016)
Catawba Valley Community College
2550 Hwy 70 SE
Hickory, NC United States 28602
heafnerj@gmail.com

Glenda Denicolo (2018)
Suffolk County Community College - Ammerman Campus
533 College Road
Dept. Physical Sciences
Selden, NY United States 11784-2899
Phone: (631) 451-4535
glenda.denicolo@gmail.com

Dennis Gilbert (2017)
Lane Community College
4000 E. 30th Ave.
Eugene, OR United States 97405
Phone: (541) 463-5049
gilbertd@lanecc.edu

Brooke Haag (2016)
American River College
4700 College Oak Drive
Sacramento, CA United States 95841-4286
Phone: (916) 484-8839
HaagB@arc.losrios.edu

Thomas Herring (2017)
2201 West College Parkway
CED 310
Carson City, NV United States 89703
Phone: (775) 445-4277
thomas.herring@wnc.edu

Nathan Quarderer (2018)
Northeast Iowa Community Colege
PO Box 400
Calmar, IA United States 52132
Phone: (563) 562-3263; Fax: (563) 562-4357
quarderern@nicc.edu

Elizabeth A. Schoene (2016)
South Seattle Comm Coll
6000 16th Avenue, SW
Seattle, WA United States 98106
Phone: (206) 934-6456
elizabeth.schoene@seattlecolleges.edu

Christopher J. Ubing (2018)
Cochise College
901 N. Colombo Ave
Sierra Vista, AZ United States 85635
Phone: (520) 515-4506
ubingc@cochise.edu

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Sherry L. Savrda, Ex Officio
Seminole State College
Physical Science Dept
100 Weldon Blvd
Sanford, FL United States 32773-6199
Phone: (407) 708-2205; Fax: (352) 365-3501
savrdas@seminolestate.edu

Susannah Hicks, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
shicks@aapt.org

 

Mission

1. Provide a common meeting ground and opportunities for communication for two-year college teachers of physics and astronomy.

2. Explore topics of professional concern to two-year college teachers, including the framework of conditions and extra-classroom activities that affect the teacher and educational process.

3. Cooperate with the High School and Professional Concerns

4. Committees on professional topics of mutual concern.

5. Cooperate with the Undergraduate Education Committee on courses and curricula and on matters related to articulation for students transferring between institutions.

6. Make recommendations, through the Review Board and Executive Board, to the AAPT Council and membership, for activities that would be helpful to physics education and physics teachers.