AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Homepage

https://sites.google.com/a/aapt.org/comm/

Kendra J. Sibbernsen, Chair (2015)
Metropolitan Community College
P.O. Box 3777
Omaha, NE United States 68103
ksibb@cox.net

C. Dianne Phillips, Vice Chair (2015)
NorthWest Arkansas Community College
One College Drive
Bentonville, AR United States 72712
Phone: (479) 313-7737
dphillips@nwacc.edu

Dennis Gilbert (2017)
Lane Community College
4000 E. 30th Ave.
Eugene, OR United States 97405
Phone: (541) 463-5049
gilbertd@lanecc.edu

Brooke Haag (2016)
American River College
4700 College Oak Drive
Sacramento, CA United States 95841-4286
Phone: (916) 484-8839
HaagB@arc.losrios.edu

Paul J. Heafner (2015)
Catawba Valley Community College
2550 Hwy 70 SE
Hickory, NC United States 28602
heafnerj@gmail.com

Sherry L. Savrda (2017)
Seminole State College
Physical Science Dept
100 Weldon Blvd
Sanford, FL United States 32773-6199
Phone: (407) 708-2205; Fax: (352) 365-3501
savrdas@seminolestate.edu

Elizabeth A. Schoene (2016)
South Seattle Comm Coll
6000 16th Avenue, SW
Seattle, WA United States 98106
Phone: (206) 934-6456
elizabeth.schoene@seattlecolleges.edu

William T. Waggoner (2015)
San Antonio College
1300 San Pedro Avenue
San Antonio, TX United States 78212
drofn10zt@earthlink.net

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Susannah Hicks, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
shicks@aapt.org

 

Mission

1. Provide a common meeting ground and opportunities for communication for two-year college teachers of physics and astronomy.

2. Explore topics of professional concern to two-year college teachers, including the framework of conditions and extra-classroom activities that affect the teacher and educational process.

3. Cooperate with the High School and Professional Concerns

4. Committees on professional topics of mutual concern.

5. Cooperate with the Undergraduate Education Committee on courses and curricula and on matters related to articulation for students transferring between institutions.

6. Make recommendations, through the Review Board and Executive Board, to the AAPT Council and membership, for activities that would be helpful to physics education and physics teachers.