• About AAPT
  • 2017 Second Cohort AAPT Fellows Awards Announced

Second Cohort of 2017 AAPT Fellows Awards Announced

Contact: David Wolfe
E-mail: dwolfe@aapt.org
Phone: (301) 209-3327


College Park, Maryland, United States, November 14, 2017—The second cohort of 2017 AAPT Fellows Awardees have been announced. The criterion for selection of Fellows is exceptional contribution to AAPT's mission, to enhance the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching. Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers. Any AAPT member who has maintained an active membership for at least 7 years is eligible for nomination for Fellowship. Nominations are evaluated by the AAPT Awards committee and approved by the AAPT Board of Directors. 

The new Fellows are:
  • Tim Duman, University of Indianapolis, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Randall Knight, California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo, California
  • Laureen (Laurie) Reed, Saginaw Valley State University, University Center, Michigan
  • Carl Rutledge, East Central University, Ada, Oklahoma
  • Toni Sauncy, Texas Lutheran University, Seguin, Texas
  • Steve Spicklemire, University of Indianapolis, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Tim Stelzer, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois
  • Paul Tipler, Oakland University, Alemeda, California
  • Barbara Whitten, Colorado College, Colorado Springs, Colorado

About AAPT
AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.