• About AAPT
  • 2021 Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT to be awarded to Nina Morley Daye

Nina Morley Daye2021 Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT to be awarded to Nina Morley Daye


College Park, MD, October 21, 2020—AAPT has announced that Nina Morley Daye will receive the association's Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT, during their 2021 Virtual Winter Meeting.

Regarding her selection to receive this citation, Daye said, “AAPT has been a key part of my professional life in physics education since 1982.  The people I have met through AAPT and the PTRA (Physics Teaching Resource Program) are family to me.  I love helping others grow personally and professionally; I am very honored to receive this recognition from an organization that I love.”

Daye is a National Board Certified teacher and received the Presidential Award of Excellence in Secondary Science in 1997 for North Carolina. She finds ways to share physics with teachers, students and the public.  A PTRA since 1986, she is a highly respected physics workshop leader, teacher, and has spent the last thirty-eight years dedicated to improving the teaching and learning of physics.

Daye not only has excellent teaching methodologies but also has written many activities used in workshops across the country. During her career, she has worked with the NC Department of Public Instruction and NC Science Teachers Association, Project PhysLAB, the NC-VISION program, LABNET, and the Modeling Physics curriculum reform group.  In 1988 she was in the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Program for Physics Teachers and was a Duke-Durham Fellow until the program ended in 1997.

She has been recognized as a NC District 5 Science Teacher of the Year for NCSTA (2008) and the Orange High School Teacher of the Year (2011). She has received numerous grants from NASA, UNC, and the North Carolina Electric Cooperatives Bright Ideas Program for Teachers.  Daye has been in over twenty leadership positions from curriculum writing to coaching the FIRST FRC Robotics Team 587: The Hedgehogs in NC.  Daye has publications on momentum, electrostatics, and robotics.  She is the type of person who will come up with a workable solution for any problem in physics education.

Daye has done numerous presentations at AAPT meetings and at the North Carolina AAPT Section meetings.  She has been a leader in workshops in several states and will travel to the locations where she is needed.  She is always ready to share her love of science and the importance of supporting STEM education for all students.  Daye has retired from Orange High School and has founded a company to support families with science education, 2 DayesScience, www.2Dayesscience.com.

About the Award
Established in 1953 and renamed in recognition of AAPT founder Homer L. Dodge in 2012, the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service to AAPT is presented to members in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the association at the national, sectional, or local level.

About AAPT
AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.

For more information: Contact David Wolfe, Director of Communications, dwolfe@aapt.org, (301) 209-3322, (301) 209-0845 (Fax), www.aapt.org.