AAPT 2020 PAEMST Awardees


August 6, 2020, College Park, MD—Five AAPT members have been honored as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Awardees come from schools in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDES) schools, and schools in the United States territories of Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and thee United State Virgin Islands. Nominations and awards are facilitated by the White House office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) and the National Science Foundation.

The AAPT award winners are:

  • Tessie Ford, Waipahu, Hawaii
  • Jedediyah Williams, Nantucket, Massachusetts
  • Elegan Kramer, Town and Country, Missouri
  • Jeremy Secaur, Elyria, Ohio
  • David Morrill, Sandy, Utah


Executive Officer, Beth A. Cunningham remarked, "AAPT recognizes the excellent performance of all of the PAEMST awardees and supports their work in classrooms across the United States. We also recognize the outstanding efforts of the awardees who are our members. These teachers give their best each day to their students and help advance the greater good through excellence in physics education."

About AAPT
AAPT is the premier international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.

For more information: Contact David Wolfe, Director of Communications, dwolfe@aapt.org, (301)209-3322, (301)209-0845 (Fax)