AAPT Announces 2018 U.S. Physics Team

Contact: Dave Wolfe, Director of Communications
E-mail: dwolfe@aapt.org
Phone: (301) 209-3327


College Park, MD, May 15, 2018—After a rigorous search involving two exams, the American Association of Physics Teachers has identified the top contenders as members of the United States Physics Team. They come from California, Florida, Indiana, Illinois Maryland, New Jersey, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Texas, They attend public schools, charter schools, online schools and home schools.. There are high school freshmen, sophomores, juniors, and seniors.

Later this month these bright emerging physicists will participate in Physics Boot Camp at the University of Maryland in College Park. Most of the students invited to the camp are the top science student in their high school. For many, it is their first chance to meet other students who are truly their peers. The training camp is a crash course in the first two years of university physics. Students learn at a very fast pace. They have an opportunity to hear about cutting edge research from some of the community's leading physicists. Six of them are returning as second time members of the United States Physics Team.

The twenty members of the 2018 U.S. Physics Team will prepare for the mentally grueling exams and lab tests they'll face at the 49th International Physics Olympiad to be held July 21–29 in Lisbon, Portugal, where student scholars from 133 nations will test their knowledge in physics, competing with the world's best.. At the end of Camp, the coaches will identify the five students who will travel to the 49th International Physics Olympiad and represent the United States. Over the past ten years, every U.S. Physics Team member traveling to the international competition has returned with a medal.

The members of the 2018 U.S. Physics Team are:
Vincent W. Bian, Poolesville High School, Poolesville MD
Sean S. Chen, Canyon Crest Academy, San Diego CA
Swapnil Garg, The Harker School, San Jose CA
Gopal K. Goel, Krishna Home School, Portland OR
Matthew Guo, Evergreen Valley High School, San Jose CA
Hagan E. Hensley, Stanford Online High School, Stanford CA
Raymond B. Li, Canyon Crest Academy, San Diego CA
Kiran Linsuain, Homeschool, Pittsburgh PA
Richard R. Liu, William Mason High School, Mason OH
Edward P. Lu, Cinco Ranch High School, Katy TX
Pranav M. Murugan, Texas Academy of Math and Science, Denton TX
Graham L. O'Donnell, Lincoln High School, Tallahassee FL
Anthony C. Ou, Carmel High School, Carmel IN
Dilhan Salgado, Montgomery Blair High School, Silver Spring MD
Michelle C. Song, Mission San Jose High School, Fremont CA
Shannon Y. Weng, West Windsor - Plainsboro High School South, West Windsor NJ
Jason Xia, Naperville North High School, Naperville IL
YuQing Xie, The Charter School of Wilmington, Wilmington DE
David T. Xiong, West Windsor - Plainsboro High School South, West Windsor NJ
Daniel G. Zhu, Montgomery Blair High School, Silver Spring MD

"The competition for a position on the U.S. Physics Team is intense and each student who participated in the 2018 selection process is deserving of recognition. They are the future of America's success in physics related fields. AAPT is honored to recognize the exceptional scholars who qualified for the team and to support their further participation in the International Physics Olympiad," said Dr. Beth A. Cunningham, Executive Officer of the American Association of Physics Teachers. 

The coaches for the 2018 U.S. Physics team are: Paul Stanley, Academic Director; Jia Jia Dong, Co-Academic Director; Mark Eichenlaub, Senior Coach; Michael Winer and Abijith Krishnan, Junior Coaches; and Nicholas D. Sparks, Coach. 

The U.S. Physics Team is sponsored by the generous support of private donors, the American Institute for Physics and the member societies of the American Institute of Physics:
Acoustical Society of America
American Association of Physicists in Medicine
American Association of Physics Teachers
American Astronomical Society
American Meteorological Society
American Institute for Physics
American Physical Society
AVS: Science &Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing
Optical Society of America
The Society of Rheology

Hosting University:
University of Maryland

Corporate Sponsors:
Beloit College
Cambridge University Press
D.E.Shaw Group & Company
Ellington Management Group
Geppetto Catering
J Burke Catering
John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
Pearson Education
Princeton University Press

List of Events
May 27 —Physics Team members arrive at the University of Maryland for training camp
May 29 —Welcome Reception at the University of Maryland
June 6 —Camp Closing Ceremony: Five students will be chosen to represent the U.S. Physics Team at the International Physics Olympiad
July 21-29 —International Physics Olympiad (IPHO) in Lisbon, Portugal
July 28 —IPHO Closing Ceremony

More on the Web
Main website of the U.S. Physics Team: http://aapt.org/physicsteam/2018/team.cfm
History of the physics team, including past winners: http://aapt.org/physicsteam/2018/program.cfm
49th International Physics Olympiad: http://ipho-unofficial.org/

About AAPT

AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. Founded in 1930, the Association is headquartered in the American Center for Physics at College Park, Maryland.