IPhO 2022 Results

U.S. Physics Team Wins Three Gold Medals and Two Silver Medals at IPhO 2022

IPhO 2022 logoU.S. Physics Team Members Win Three Gold Medals and Two Silver Medals in the Virtual IPhO 2022

Contact: Dave Wolfe, Director of Communications
E-mail: dwolfe@aapt.org Phone: (301) 209-3327 www.aapt.org


U.S. Physics Team 2022July 17, 2022, College Park, MD — Congratulations to the five members of the U.S. Physics team who participated in IPhO 2022. Special recognition also goes out to the organizers of this year's event. On the challenge of planning to host an International Physics Olympiad in just 2 months that normally takes 2 1/2 years, Dr. Lionel Philippoz, Chairman od the Organizing Committee IPhO22 said, “Collaboration is the key word. Had we been alone we would have for sure faced failure but, fortunately, we knew we could count on the international collaboration of motivated and committed people. It is only through the work of many that we can achieve a common goal such as an International Physics Olympiad. The informal motto of Switzerland is 'One for all. All for one.' This idea is represented in the IPhO22 choice of logos, the James Webb Telescope. Like many other scientific projects of that scale it can be seen as a symbol of collaboration. It would have been an impossible task without the support of thousands of physicists or engineers over many years. I'm sure your life will also be full of challenges, sometimes difficult ones. You might, perhaps think that they might be impossible to overcome and feel desperate. But don't lose hope. You are never alone. Life is too short to focus on negativity so let's rather embrace hope and optimism."

The IPhO representatives of the U. S. Team and their medals are:

Alex GuCollin FanEvan EricksonRishab Parthasarathy Rowechen Zhong

Alex S. Gu, Valley Christian High School, San Jose, CA
Gold Medal

Collin S. Fan, Adlai E. Stevenson High School, Lincolnshire, IL
Silver Medal

Evan Erickson, Erickson Homeschool Academy, Lake Elmo, MN
Gold Medal

Rishab X. Parthasarathy, The Harker School, San Jose, CA
Gold Medal

Rowechen Zhong, Westwood High School, Austin, TX
Silver Mdal

We recognize the 2022 U.S. Physics Team coaching staff for their tremendous efforts to select and train a virtual Physics Team this year. Due to the COVID-19 complications and war in Europe, the entire process was interrupeted. The coaches went above and beyond expectation to ensure that the United States was well represented at the 2022 International Physics Olympiad.

The coaches for the 2022 U.S. Physics Team are Tengiz Bibilashvili, Academic Director; Abijith Krishnan, Kye Shi, Brian Skinner, Mike Winer, and Kevin Zhou, Coaches; Meredith Neyer, Junior Coach.

The U.S. Physics Team is sponsored by the generous support of private donors, the American Institute for Physics and the member societies of the American Institute of Physics:
Acoustical Society of America
American Association of Physicists in Medicine
American Association of Physics Teachers
American Astronomical Society
ACA: The Structural Science Society
American Meteorological Society
American Physical Society
AVS: Science &Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing
The Society of Rheology

Hosting University:
University of Maryland

Corporate Sponsors:
Cambridge University Press
D.E.Shaw Group & Company

IPhO 2022 Updates —IPhO 2022 was held remotely and hosted by Switzerland. The informational website, http://www.ipho2022.com.

About AAPT
AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. Founded in 1930, the Association is headquartered in the American Center for Physics at College Park, Maryland.


David Wolfe

Director of Communications