• About AAPT
  • Dr. Michio Kaku Awarded the 2008 Klopsteg Memorial Award

Dr. Michio Kaku Awarded the 2008 Klopsteg Memorial Award

Michio Kaku Awarded 2008 AAPT Klopsteg Memorial Award

July 14, 2008


MichioKaku  Dr. Michio Kaku, Henry Semat Professor at the
 City College of New York, is the 2008 recipient
 of the Klopsteg Memorial Award from the American
 Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT).  Klopsteg
 awardees are chosen for their extraordinary
 accomplishments in communicating the excitement
 of physics to the general public. The Klopsteg
 awardee presents a lecture on a physics topic of
 current significance suitable for non-specialists, in
 memory of Paul Klopsteg, AAPT Past President.
 Dr. Kaku will give his acceptance talk at the 2008
 AAPT Summer Meeting in Edmonton, Canada,
 entitled, “Physics of the Impossible” on July 21,
 2008 at 4 p.m.

“Professor Michio Kaku has brought exciting physics ideas to readers worldwide through his popular and highly readable books, TV appearances, and radio series. The Klopsteg Memorial Award honors Michio Kaku's outstanding contributions in the communication of the excitement of contemporary physics to the general public," says Harvey S. Leff, Chair, AAPT Awards Chair, as well as the 2008 AAPT Past President, and Professor Emeritus of Physics, California State Polytechnic University.

Dr. Kaku’s most popular and best selling books include "Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey Through Parallel Universes, Time Warps and the Tenth Dimension" and "Visions: How Science Will Revolutionize the 21st Century", which have been widely translated in different languages. His recent book "Parallel Worlds: a Journey Through Creation, Higher Dimensions, and the Future of the Cosmos," was selected as a finalist for the Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction in the UK.  Dr. Kaku hosts a weekly syndicated radio program, "Explorations in Science.”

Dr. Kaku has become a popular figure in mainstream media, due to his knowledge, as well as his accessible approach to explaining complex physics, quantum mechanics and other topics from a layperson's point of view.  He is the co-creator of string field theory, a branch of string theory. He continues Einstein's search to unite the four fundamental forces of the universe into one unified theory.

AAPT is the leading organization for physics teachers and physics education and provides services that help enhance teaching skills and publishes scholarly journals documenting best teaching practices.  APPT is committed to providing the most current resources and up-to-date research needed to enhance a physics educator's professional development. The results are not only a deeper appreciation of the teaching profession, but most importantly, more enthusiastic involvement from their students.

About the Award
Established in 1990, this award is given to a notable physicist in memory of Paul Klopsteg. The Klopsteg Memorial Award recipient is asked to make a major presentation at an AAPT Summer Meeting on a topic of current significance suitable for non-specialists.

Previous Awardees:
2007 Neil deGrasse Tyson, Hayden Planetarium at the American Museum of Natural History, New York
2006 Lisa Randall, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA,
2005 Wendy Freedman, Carnegie Observatories, Pasadena, CA
2004 Anton Zeilinger, University of Vienna, Austria

About AAPT
AAPT is the leading organization for physics educators—with more than 10,000 members worldwide. Our mission is to advance the greater good through physics education. We provide our members with many opportunities for professional development, communication, and student enrichment. We serve the larger community through a variety of programs and publications. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.

Contact information for AAPT: 
Linda Ware Dylla, AAPT Communications

Contact information for City University of New York:
Ellis Simon, Director of Public Relations