2007 Barbara Lotze Scholarship Winners


2007 Winners Named in Barbara Lotze Scholarship for Future Teachers

College Park, Maryland, United States, February 1, 2007

The American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) announced today that the 2007 Barbara Lotze Scholarship for Future Teachers has been awarded to Logan Kimberly, Brianne Boland, and Alex Silverman. Supported by an endowment funded by AAPT Member Barbara Lotze, the scholarship provides a $2,000 stipend to outstanding future high school physics teachers.
About the Recipients
Logan Kimberly is a member of the class of 2008 at University of Wisconsin-Steven’s Point. “I’ve always wanted to become a teacher,” Kimberly says. He loved physics immediately. When he realized others had difficulty, “that’s when I knew I wanted to become a high school physics teacher.”

Robert Beeken, Professor and Chairman, Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Wisconsin-Steven’s Point, says, “Logan Kimberly is, without doubt, the most gifted secondary education teacher that our physics program will have produced in the 27 years I have been at this institution.”

Brianne Boland is a member of the class of 2009 at Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. When her mother asked why she liked physics, Boland responded, “Because it explains everything.”

Ruth H. Howes, Professor and Chair, Physics Department at Marquette, calls Boland a strong teacher and an eager student. “She’s willing to fight through the mathematics of problems and seeks a conceptual understanding of the material and not just recipes for completing problems,” she says.

Alex Silverman was graduated from Georgia Institute of Technology earlier this month and is applying for jobs within the Atlanta public high school system. He has taught and tutored as a volunteer since his freshman year and says, “I believe the great education I have received from Georgia Tech combined with my teaching experience will help me succeed at teaching and allow me to get my future students excited about physics.”

Donna C. Llewellyn, Director of the Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning at Georgia Institute of Technology, says, “Alex has a keen interest in teaching physics to high school students—not just the top tier, but also the disengaged and under-motivated ones. He works hard at finding ways to reach the students who don’t want to be reached.”

Previous Scholarship Winners
A list of previous winners can be found on the AAPT website at: http://aapt.org/Grants/lotze.cfm.

About AAPT
AAPT is the leading organization for physics educators—with more than 10,000 members worldwide. Our mission is to advance the greater good through physics education. We provide our members with many opportunities for professional development, communication, and student enrichment. We serve the larger community through a variety of programs and publications. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.

For More Information
Contact Robert Merz, Marketing Manager
1-301-209-0845 (Fax)

All Press Releases.