Toni SauncyToni Sauncy Becomes President of AAPT


College Park, Maryland, January 9, 2022—At the close of the 2022 Virtual Winter Meeting the presidential gavel was presented to Toni Sauncy. She will serve as President of the American Association of Physics Teachers for the coming year. Sauncy, Chair, Department of Physics and Harold T. Johnson Professor in Pre-Engineering at Texas Lutheran University, has previously served on the AAPT Board of Directors as President-elect and Vice President.

One of Sauncy’s goals will be to continue the influence of AAPT beyond the classroom. She believes that it is through the work of passionate, inspired, and dedicated physics educators that the curious are spurred on to learn, explore, and discover in ways that we have yet to imagine as we lay the necessary foundations.

Sauncy will also focus on assuring that AAPT as an organization stays at the forefront of current strategic initiatives and that AAPT enhances the forward progress of physics, and all that it involves, by deepening and expanding the relationships between all the teachers and learners of physics,

A past member and chair of the AAPT Committee on Undergraduate Education, Sauncy had also been a member of the Committee on Women in Physics, Lotze Scholarship Committee, and the Director of the Society of Physics Students and Sigma Pi Sigma. She served on the Board of the Advanced Lab Physics Association and on the Council on Undergraduate Research.

In 2017 she was recognized with the Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service and as an AAPT Fellow.

About AAPT
The AAPT is the premier national organization and authority on physics and physical science education with members worldwide. Our mission is to advance the greater good through physics education. We provide our members with many opportunities for professional development, communication, and student enrichment. We serve the larger community through a variety of programs and publications. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.

For more information: Contact David Wolfe, Director of Communications,, (301) 209-3322, (301) 209-0845 (Fax)