U. S. Physics Team IPhO 2023 Winners

U. S. Physics Team Wins Medals at IPhO 2023

2023 IPHO winners_sizedU.S. Physics Team Members Win Four Gold Medals and One Silver Medal in the 2023 International Physics Olympiad


July 17, 2023, College Park, MD—Congratulations to the five members of the U.S. Physics team who participated in IPhO 2023. 53rd International Physics Olympiad held July 10–17 at National Olympics Memorial Youth Center in Tokyo, where student scholars from 90 nations tested their knowledge in physics, competing with the world's best.

The five traveling members of the 2023 U.S. Physics Team and their awards are:
Shuoyan Chen, Troy High School, Fullerton, CA Silver Medal
Collin Fan, Adlai E. Stevenson High School, Lincolnshire, IL Gold Medal and Best Experiment Special Prize
Evan Kim, Tesla STEM High School, Redmond, WA Gold Medal
Zian Shi, Clovis North High School, Fresno, CA Gold Medal
Feodor Yevtushenko, University High School, Irvine, CA Gold Medal and Best Theory Special Prize shared with China

The coaches traveling with the 2023 U.S. Physics Team are Tengiz Bibilashvili, Academic Director, and Kevin Zhou, Coach.

The U.S. Physics Team is sponsored by the generous support of private donors, the American Institute for Physics and the member societies of the American Institute of Physics:
Acoustical Society of America
American Association of Physicists in Medicine
American Association of Physics Teachers
American Astronomical Society
ACA: The Structural Science Society
American Meteorological Society
American Physical Society
AVS: Science &Technology of Materials, Interfaces, and Processing
The Society of Rheology

Hosting University:
University of Maryland

Corporate Sponsors:
Cambridge University Press
D.E.Shaw Group & Company

About AAPT
AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. Founded in 1930, the Association is headquartered in the American Center for Physics at College Park, Maryland.