AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Dimitri R. Dounas-Frazer, Chair (2017)
University of Colorado - Boulder
Department of Physics UCB 390
University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder, CO United States 80309-0390
Phone: 13034928759
dimitri.dounasfrazer@colorado.edu

Elizabeth Walker, Vice Chair (2017)
North Cobb High School
3400 Hwy 293 N
Kennesaw, GA United States 30144
Phone: (770) 975-6685
elizabeth.walker@cobbk12.org

Ximena C. Cid (2018)
California State University - Dominguez Hills
1000 E Victoria St
Carson, CA United States 90747-0005
Phone: (310) 243-3404; Fax: (310) 243-2593
ximena.c.cid@gmail.com

Abigail R. Daane (2019)
3307 3rd Ave. West
Seattle, WA United States 98119
Phone: (510) 407-5239
abigail.daane@gmail.com

Mamadou Keita (2019)
Gillette College - NWCCD
300 W Sinclair Rd
Gillette, WY United States 82718
Phone: (307) 686-0254 ext. 1113
mkeita@sheridan.edu

Geoff Potvin (2017)
Florida International University - Modesto A. Maidique Campus
Department of Physics, CP 206
11200 SW 8 St, FIU
Miami, FL United States 33199
Phone: (305) 348-7614
gpotvin@fiu.edu

Susan B. Ramsey (2017)
12735 Kain Road
Glen Allen, VA United States 23059
Phone: (434) 245-2667
susanbradyramsey@gmail.com

Mel Sabella (2019)
Chicago State University
Dept of Chemistry and Physics
9501 S King Dr SCI 232
Chicago, IL United States 60628
Phone: (773) 995-2172; Fax: (773) 995-3809
msabella@csu.edu

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rballentine@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Committee on Diversity in Physics

Geraldine L. Cochran (2014)

Daniel M. Smith, Jr. (2015)

Daniel M. Smith, Jr. (2016)

 

Mission

  1. Seek more effective means of recruitment and retention of minority members of society in physics classes and physics related careers.
  2. Seek methods of aiding minority physicists to overcome barriers to career development.
  3. Communicate to the AAPT membership and to the community at large the findings of the committee, through approved AAPT channels.