Committee on Diversity in Physics

(Prior to October 2013, this was the Committee on Minorities in Physics)

2016 Area Committee of the Year

Mission Statement

Statement on Fisher v. University of Texas at Austin (HTML / PDF)
Supporting and Enhancing Diversity and Inclusiveness in AAPT (PDF) -- Report accepted by the Board of Directors on February 18, 2017

Reports

2016 Annual Committee Report
2015 Annual Committee Report
2014 Annual Committee Report
2013 Annual Committee Report
2012 Annual Committee Report
2011 Annual Committee Report
2009 Annual Committee Report
2008 Annual Committee Report
2007 Annual Committee Report
2006 Annual Committee Report
2005 Annual Committee Report
2004 Annual Committee Report

 

Committee Members

David Marasco, Chair (Term ending after WM2020)
Foothill College
12345 El Monte Rd
Los Altos, CA United States 94022
Phone: (650) 949-7492
marascodavid@foothill.edu

Arlene Modeste Knowles, Vice Chair (Term ending after WM2020)
American Institute of Physics
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740
aknowles@aip.org

Alexis Knaub (Term ending after WM2022)
Michigan State University
567 Wilson Road
1312 BPS Building Physics Dept
East Lansing, MI United States 48824-2320
avknaub@gmail.com

Kristin L. Kraemer (Term ending after WM2020)
Kansas Wesleyan Univ
100 E Claflin Ave.
Salina, KS United States 67401
Phone: (785) 833-4466
kristin.kraemer@kwu.edu

Adebanjo Oriade (Term ending after WM2021)
University of Delaware
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
Newark, DE United States 19716
adebanjo@udel.edu

Benjamin Pollard (Term ending after WM2022)
University Of Colorado - Boulder
Physics
390 University of Colorado
Boulder, CO United States 80309-0390
Benjamin.Pollard@colorado.edu

Chandra Anne Turpen (Term ending after WM2021)
University of Maryland - College Park
Physics Dept
College Park, MD United States 20742-2421
Phone: (303) 817-0250
chandra.turpen@colorado.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Dimitri R. Dounas-Frazer (2017)

Elizabeth Walker (2018)

Carolina Alvarado (2019)

 

Mission

  1. Seek more effective means of recruitment and retention of minority members of society in physics classes and physics related careers.
  2. Seek methods of aiding minority physicists to overcome barriers to career development.
  3. Communicate to the AAPT membership and to the community at large the findings of the committee, through approved AAPT channels.