Committee Members

Brian A. Pyper, Chair (Term ending after WM2020)
Brigham Young University - Idaho
BYUI Dept of Physics
116 Romney Science Bldg
Rexburg, ID United States 83460-0520
Phone: (208) 496-7744; Fax: (208) 496-5925

Tatiana Erukhimova, Vice Chair (Term ending after WM2020)
Texas A&M University
Dept of Physics & Astronomy
4242 TAMU
College Station, TX United States 77843-4242
Phone: (979) 845-5644; Fax: (979) 845-2590

Jeremy J. Benson (Term ending after WM2021)
Northern Illinois University
1425 W. Lincoln Hwy
De Kalb, IL United States 60115-2825
Phone: (815) 753-0533

Kristi D. Concannon (Term ending after WM2021)
King's College
Dept of Chemistry and Physics
133 N River St
Wilkes Barre, PA United States 18711
Phone: (570) 208-5900 ext. 5390

James L. Hicks (Term ending after WM2020)
4701 Edgewood Rd
Crystal Lake, IL United States 60012
Fax: (815) 459-6107

Brian Holton (Term ending after WM2020)
Mt. Olive HS
18 Corey Rd
Flanders, NJ United States 07836-9601
Phone: (862) 266-6712

Kenneth J. Lonnquist (Term ending after WM2020)
Colorado State University
Physics Department
1875 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO United States 80523
Phone: (970) 491-2540

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845

Past Chairs

Michael R. Gallis, PhD (2018)

Jacquelyn J. Chini (2019)



  1. Seek ways in which physics concepts, the importance of science literacy and research, and the interaction between science and society, can be effectively conveyed to the public, of all ages and persuasions in both formal and informal educational settings.
  2. Aid     in keeping the AAPT membership informed of the importance of communicating     science and an enthusiasm for science to the public, and of effective     means for doing so.