2016 AAPT Fellows

Contact: David Wolfe
E-mail: dwolfe@aapt.org
Phone: (301)209-3327


College Park, Maryland, United States, August 15, 2016—The 2016 AAPT Fellows Awardees have been announced. The criterion for selection of Fellows is exceptional contribution to AAPT’s mission, to enhance the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching. Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers. Any AAPT member who has maintained an active membership for at least 7 years is eligible for nomination for Fellowship. Nominations are evaluated by the AAPT Awards committee and approved by the AAPT Board of Directors. 

The 2016 Fellows are:
John Belcher, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA
Ruth Chabay, North Carolina State University, retired to Santa Fe, NM
Tom Erekson, Lone Peak High School, Highland, UT
Andrew D. Gavrin, Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis, IN
Karl Mamola, Appalacchian State University, retired to Portland, OR
Jill Marshall, University of Texas-Austin, Austin, TX
Marina Milner-Bolotin, The University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC
Stephen Pompea, National Optical Astronomy Observatory, Tucson, AZ
Bruce Sherwood, North Carolina State University, retired to Santa Fe, NM
Francis Tam, Frostburg State University, Frostburg, MD
Denise Wetli, Wake Tech Community College, Raleigh, NC

About AAPT

AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.