AAPT 2016 PAESMST Awardees

Contact: David Wolfe
E-mail: dwolfe@aapt.org
Phone: (301)209-3327


August 25, 2016, College Park, MD—Seven AAPT members will be honored later this summer as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion, and are invited to Washington, DC, for an awards ceremony, as well educational and celebratory events, and visits with members of the Administration.

"The recipients of this award are integral to ensuring our students are equipped with critical thinking and problem-solving skills that are vital to our Nation's success," President Obama said. "As the United States continues to lead the way in the innovation that is shaping our future, these excellent teachers are preparing students from all corners of the country with the science, technology, engineering, and mathematics skills that help keep us on the cutting-edge."

The AAPT award winners are:

Michael Towne, Citrus Hill High School, California

Tracy Smith, Bak Middle School of the Arts, Florida

Hugh Ross, Guerin Catholic High School, Indiana

Brian Langley, Novi High School, Michigan

Marsha (Marshall) Hobbs, Jackson Preparatory School, Mississippi

Michelle Strand, West Fargo High School, North Dakota

Juan Botella, Monona Grove High School, Wisconsin

Executive Officer, Beth A. Cunningham remarked, "AAPT recognizes the excellent performance of all of the PAEMST awardees and supports their work in classrooms across the United States. We also recognize the outstanding efforts of the awardees who are our members. These teachers give their best each day to their students and help advance the greater good through excellence in physics education."

About AAPT

AAPT is an international organization for physics educators, physicists, and industrial scientists—with members worldwide. Dedicated to enhancing the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, AAPT provides awards, publications, and programs that encourage teaching practical application of physics principles, support continuing professional development, and reward excellence in physics education. AAPT was founded in 1930 and is headquartered in the American Center for Physics in College Park, Maryland.