Summary of Board Actions - Spr-Sum05

Summary of Executive Board & Council Actions

The following is an account of official actions taken and some of the topics discussed by the AAPT Executive Board during its Spring and Summer meetings in 2005. A more complete description can be found in the minutes from these meetings.

Editorial Appointments

The Executive Board approved the three-year appointments of Bruce Thomas (Carlton College), Andrew Sangwell (Georgia Institute of Technology), and Art Poisson (University of Guelph) to the American Journal of Physics Editorial Board. Also approved for three-year appointments to the Resource Letters Editorial Board were Joe Hamilton (Vanderbilt University) and Amy J. Kolin (St. Olaf College). In addition the Board authorized the appointment of Bob Beichner, Editor of Physics Review Special Topic – Physics Education Research, as a member of the AAPT Publications Committee.

Audit Report for 2004

The Board approved the recommendation from the Audit Committee that the external auditors’ report for 2004 be accepted and approved. The auditors’ report stated that the AAPT accounting practices followed generally accepted principles of accounting.

Budget Committee

The Executive Board created an advisory committee to review the draft annual AAPT operating and capital budget that will come before the Board for its approval during the October Board meeting. Members of the newly created Budget Committee are the Treasurer (Chair), the senior At-Large Member of the Board, and the Past President. Also serving on this committee will be the Executive Officer and the Associate Executive Officer.

Subscription Rates

During its April meeting, the Executive Board approved an increase in 2006 Member and Non Member Subscription Rates. The member rate for The Physics Teacher was increased from $101 to $103 and the member rate for the American Journal of Physics was increased from $129 to $131. These new rates will produce a revenue increase of $11,300 for TPT and $3,600 for AJP. Members subscribing to both AAPT journals will not realize an increase in subscription rates. Members who add the online journal to their print subscriptions will continue to pay an additional $9 for TPT or an additional $12 for AJP. Members subscribing to both online journals will only pay an additional $16. Nonmembers will pay an additional $6 for TPT and an additional $5 for AJP which will result in an approximate revenue increase of $19,000.

2007 Nominating Committee

The Executive Board and the Section Representatives completed the appointment of the members of the Nominating Committee who will select candidates for the Fall 2006 election. In addition the committee will select two members for each Area Committee. Board members elected in 2006 and new committee members will begin their term of office at the close of the 2007 Winter Meeting. Members of the 2007 Nominating Committee are Patricia Allen (Chair), Appalachian State University: William Waggoner, Creighton University; Todd Leif, Cloud County Community College; George Amann, FD Roosevelt High School; and Jill Marshall, University of Texas at Austin.