Committee Members

Gregory W. Putman, Chair (Term ending after WM2020)
Kent State Univ - Main Campus
Po Box 5190
Dept of Physics, Smith Hall, Rm 103
Kent, OH United States 44242
Phone: (330) 672-8734; Fax: (330) 672-2959
gputman1@kent.edu

Stephen H. Irons, Vice Chair (Term ending after WM2020)
Yale University
217 Prospect St
PO Box 208120
New Haven, CT United States 06520
Phone: (203) 432-3664; Fax: (203) 432-6175
stephen.irons@yale.edu

Ansel J. Foxley (Term ending after WM2021)
University of Northern Colorado
501 20th St
Greeley, CO United States 80639-6900
ajfoxley@gmail.com

Robert Hobbs (Term ending after WM2021)
Bellevue College
Bellevue College Sci Div. L200
3000 Landerholm Cir SE
Bellevue, WA United States 98007-6484
Phone: (425) 564-3154
rhobbs@bellevuecollege.edu

Derek Leadbetter (Term ending after WM2022)
Duke Univ
Physics Dept
Box 90305
Durham, NC United States 27708
Phone: (919) 681-9283
derek.leadbetter@duke.edu

Alexandru Maries (Term ending after WM2021)
University of Cincinnati - Main Campus
2624 Clifton Ave
Cincinnati, OH United States 45221
Phone: (201) 312-5091
mariesau@ucmail.uc.edu

Mark F. Masters (Term ending after WM2020)
IPFW
Purdue University Fort Wayne Physics
2101 E Coliseum Blvd Dept of
Fort Wayne, IN United States 46805
Phone: (260) 481-6153; Fax: (260) 481-6880
masters@pfw.edu

Paul E. Noel (Term ending after WM2022)
Yale University
217 Prospect Street
New Haven, CT United States 06511
Phone: (203) 432-0439
paul.noel@yale.edu

Samuel M. Sampere (Term ending after WM2020)
Syracuse University
Dept of Physics
201 Physics Bldg
Syracuse, NY United States 13244
Phone: (315) 443-5999; Fax: (315) 443-9103
smsamper@syr.edu

Dale Stille (Term ending after WM2022)
University of Iowa
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
Van Allen Hall Room 58
Iowa City, IA United States 52242
Phone: (319) 335-1833; Fax: (319) 335-1753
dale-stille@uiowa.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rsweeney@aapt.org

Past Chairs

James J. Lincoln (2016)

Daniel E. Beeker (2018)

Tara A. Peppard (2019)

 

Mission

  1. Inform the AAPT membership about current techniques for the construction, maintenance, and utilization of instructional apparatus.
  2. Seek new and forgotten techniques for presenting ideas in physics through lecture demonstrations and laboratory exercises.
  3. As authorized by the Executive Board, conduct events such as the apparatus competition to recognize, reward, and publicize contributions to physics teaching through lecture demonstrations and laboratory exercises.