AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers



Raluca Elena Teodorescu, Committee Chair (2016)
The George Washington University
725 21st St, NW
Physics Dept
Washington, DC United States 20052-0002
Phone: (202) 994-8034; Fax: (202) 994-3001

Carolina Alvarado, Vice Chair (2016)
University of Maine
College Avenue
5709 Bennett Hall - Physics Dept
Orono, ME United States 04469
Phone: (207) 581-4667

Andre Bresges (2018)
University of Cologne
Institute of Physics Education
Cologne, Germany NRW 50931
Phone: +4915114746520; Fax: +492214705961

Ruth W. Chabay (2016)
North Carolina State University
515 E. Coronado Road
Santa Fe, NM United States 87505
Phone: (505) 603-8144

Tiberiu Dragoiu Luca (2016)
The Hun School of Princeton
176 Edgerstoune Road
Princeton, NJ United States 08540-6799
Phone: (609) 921-7600 x 2312; Fax: (609) 683-4410

Uri Ganiel (2018)
Weizmann Inst of Science
Dept of Science Teaching
Weizmann Institute of Science
Rehovot, Israel 76100
Phone: 97-2893-43895; Fax: 97-2894-73677

Genrikh Golin (2017)
Touro College - Brooklyn Campus
448 Neptune Ave
Brooklyn, NY United States 11224
Phone: (347) 453-2692

Cynthia E. Heiner (2017)
Freie Universitaet Berlin, Dept. of Phys
Arnimallee 14, Rm. 1.3.40
Berlin, Germany 14195
Phone: 011493083856711

Edit Menuha Yerushalmi (2018)
Weizmann Institute of Science
234 Herzl Street
Dept of Science Teaching
Rehovot, Israel 76100
Phone: 08-9343894

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3325; Fax: (301) 209-0845

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845

Past Chairs

Committee on International Physics Education

Tetyana Antimirova, PhD (2013)

Dean A. Zollman (2014)

Chandralekha Singh (2015)



  1. Provide a channel of communication between the membership of AAPT and physics teachers and students in other countries.
  2. Facilitate active cooperation between AAPT, the International Commission on Physics Education, and other international groups concerned with physics education