AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Cassandra Paul, Chair (2018)
San Jose State Univ
One Washington Square
San Jose, CA United States 95192-0001
Phone: (408) 924-5228
cassandra.paul@sjsu.edu

James T. Laverty, Vice Chair (2018)
Kansas State University
Physics Dept
Manhattan, KS United States 66506
Phone: (785) 532-1526
laverty@ksu.edu

Elise Agra (2020)
University of Chicago
5848 S University Ave
Chicago, IL United States 60637-1496
esgagra@gmail.com

Marcos D. Caballero (2018)
Michigan State University
567 Wilson Road
1310 BPS Building Physics Dept
East Lansing, MI United States 48824-2320
Phone: (517) 884-5657
caballero@pa.msu.edu

Lin Ding (2020)
The Ohio State University
School of Teaching & Learning
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH United States 43210-1358
ding.65@osu.edu

James T. Laverty (2017)
Kansas State University
Physics Dept
Manhattan, KS United States 66506
Phone: (785) 532-1526
laverty@ksu.edu

Gina Passante (2020)
California State University - Fullerton
PO Box 34080
800 N State Col Blvd
Fullerton, CA United States 92831-3547
Phone: (657) 278-7403
gpassante@fullerton.edu

Vashti A. Sawtelle (2018)
Michigan State University
567 Wilson Road
1312 BPS Building Physics Dept
East Lansing, MI United States 48824-2320
Phone: (305) 968-9311
davisvas@gmail.com

Craig C. Wiegert (2019)
University of Georgia
Dept of Physics and Astronomy
Athens, GA United States 30602-2451
Phone: (706) 542-4023; Fax: (706) 542-2492
wiegert@physast.uga.edu

Genaro Zavala (2018)
Tecnologico De Monterrey
Departamento De Fisica Campus Monterrey
Garza Sada 2501 Sur
Monterrey NL, NLE Mexico 64849
Phone: 81-8358-2000
genaro.zavala@itesm.mx

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rballentine@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Hunter G. Close (2015)

Mila Kryjevskaia (2016)

Vashti A. Sawtelle (2017)

 

Mission

  1. Encourage and follow research on the teaching and learning of physics and related topics.
  2. Help keep the AAPT membership and the broader science teaching community aware of new and current understanding of how and why students learn, and ways of improving instruction, including the appropriate use of new tools and technologies.
  3. Encourage both the use of the outcomes of research and the doing of formal and informal research in the physics classroom and laboratory.
  4. Encourage recognition of research in physics education as a valid area of inquiry within physics departments.