AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 

Alexandru Maries, Chair (2017)
University Of Pittsburgh
3941 O'Hara St
Pittsburgh, PA United States 15260
Phone: (201) 312-5091
mariesau@ucmail.uc.edu

Zhongzhou Chen, Vice Chair (2017)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Ave
Cambridge, MA United States 02139-4307
Phone: (617) 324-2731
zchen22@mit.edu

Seth T. DeVore (2018)
West Virginia University
1500 Univ Ave
Morgantown, WV United States 26506-0002
stdevore@mail.wvu.edu

Bruce A. Mason (2019)
University of Oklahoma
Homer L. Dodge Dept of Physics and Astro
440 W Brooks St
Norman, OK United States 73019
Phone: (405) 325-3961; Fax: (405) 325-7557
bmason@ou.edu

Abigail R. Mechtenberg (2019)
University of Notre Dame
Physics Dept
225 Nieuwland Science Hall
Notre Dame, IN United States 46556
Phone: (574) 631-6285
Abigail.R.Mechtenberg.3@nd.edu

Lindsay Owens (2017)
University of Cincinnati
511 Teachers College
PO Box 210022
Cincinnati, OH United States 45221
owensly@mail.uc.edu

Christopher Porter (2019)
The Ohio State University
Dept of Physics
191 W Woofruff Ave
Columbus, OH United States 43210
Phone: (614) 247-8223
porter.284@osu.edu

Robert C. Hilborn, Ex Officio
AAPT
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3311; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rhilborn@aapt.org

Karen Jo Matsler, Ex Officio
University of Texas - Arlington
502 Yates St Box 19043
Arlington, TX United States 76001
Phone: (817) 723-1132; Fax: (817) 483-7251
kjmatsler@gmail.com

Richard Ballentine, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rballentine@aapt.org

Past Chairs

Committee on Graduate Education in Physics

Sytil K. Murphy (2014)

Andrew J. Mason, PhD (2015)

Jennifer L. Docktor (2016)

 

 

Mission

  1. Provide a forum for consideration of topics relevant to graduate instruction in physics.
  2. Through communication with the Committee on Physics in Undergraduate Education and with the AAPT membership, seek ways in which students may be better prepared for the transition from undergraduate school to graduate school, and ways in which students may emerge from graduate school better prepared for undergraduate teaching as well as academic and industrial research.
  3. Aid in keeping the AAPT membership and other academic and research physicists aware of effective means of conducting graduate instruction in physics, in classrooms and in research.
  4. Provide effective communication, through accepted channels, between AAPT and research oriented scientific and engineering societies with overlapping interests.