AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers


Committee Members

Gabriel C. Spalding, Chair (2019)
Illinois Wesleyan Univ
PO Box 2900
1312 N Pk St
Bloomington, IL United States 61702-2900
Phone: (309) 556-3004; Fax: (309) 556-3864

Joseph F. Kozminski, Vice Chair (2019)
Lewis University
Physics Dept. Lewis University
One University Pkwy
Romeoville, IL United States 60446
Phone: (815) 836-5393

Duncan L. Carlsmith (2021)
University of Wisconsin - Madison
1150 University Ave
Physics Dept
Madison, WI United States 53706-1380
Phone: (608) 262-2485; Fax: (608) 263-0800

William A. Dittrich (2020)
Portland Community College
PO Box 19000
Portland, OR United States 97280-0990
Phone: (971) 722-4417; Fax: (971) 722-8020

Ramon E. Lopez (2021)
Univ of Texas - Arlington
Dept of Physics
Arlington, TX United States 76019
Phone: (321) 750-8688

Marie Lopez Del Puerto (2021)
Univ of St Thomas
2115 Summit Ave.
Saint Paul, MN United States 55105
Phone: (651) 962-5213

A. James Mallmann (2019)
Milwaukee School of Engineering
Dept of Physics and Chemistry
1025 N Broadway
Milwaukee, WI United States 53202-3109
Phone: (414) 277-7317; Fax: (414) 277-2878

Andy Rundquist (2020)
Hamline University
1536 Hewitt Ave
Saint Paul, MN United States 55104-1284
Phone: (651) 252-1778

Roberto Salgado (2019)
University of Wisconsin - La Crosse
Colgate University
Dept of Physics And Astronomy
Hamilton, NY United States 13346

Joshua Samani (2019)
University Of California - Los Angeles (UCLA)
405 Hilgard Avenue
Los Angeles, CA United States 90095-1405
Phone: (818) 903-3835

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3310; Fax: (301) 209-0845

Karen Jo Matsler, Ex Officio
University of Texas - Arlington
502 Yates St Box 19043
Arlington, TX United States 76001
Phone: (817) 723-1132; Fax: (817) 483-7251

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845

Past Chairs

Committee on Physics in Undergraduate Education

Kathleen Ann Falconer (2016)

Vincent H. Kuo, Ph.D. (2017)

Toni Sauncy (2018)



  1. Provide a forum for consideration of topics relevant to undergraduate instruction in physics in two-year colleges, four-year colleges, and universities.
  2. In cooperation with the High School, Two-Year College and Graduate Education Committees, seek ways of improving articulation for students progressing from one level to another.
  3. Aid in keeping the AAPT membership informed of ways in which the teaching of physics at the undergraduate level may facilitated.