Team Facts & News

In 1986, under the direction of the AAPT Executive Officer, Jack Wilson, the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) organized the United States Physics Team for the first time. — AAPT.ORG

2013 Physics Olympics Team Banner

Physics Team Training Camp - University of Maryland

These students are training for the mentally grueling exams and lab tests they'll face at the 44th International Physics Olympiad to be held from July 7 – 15, in Copenhagen, where student scholars from more than 90 nations will test their knowledge in physics, competing with the best in the world. Over the past eleven years, every U.S. Physics Team member traveling to the international competition has returned with a medal.  Five members of the 2013 team are returning from last year.

Some Photos


2013 Team visiting Capitol Hill

Front row L-R: Zachary Bogorad, Kevin Zhu, Grace Lin, Kevin Fei, Calvin Huang, Matthew Huang, Jeffrey Cai
Middle row L-R: Eric Chen, Lucy Chen (Coach), Jonathan Tidor, Edward Park, Marianna Mao (Coach), Zach Markos
Back row L-R: Owen Gray, Samuel Zbarsky, Vickie Ye, Rahul Sridhar, David Fallest (Coach), Mike Winer, Paul Stanley (Director), Xianglong Ni, Kevin Zhou, Lawrence Sun, Andrew Lin (Coach), Jeffrey Yan


Eric Chen, Matthew Huang, Rahul Sridhar, and Kevin Zhu


Grace Lin and Lawrence Sun