AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers


The CEEB code (school code)
For high schools... CEEB codes
For home school...Home school codes

The teacher code: There is to be only 1 code per school... this is your AAPT member number and can be obtained from AAPT if you have forgotten it. If you are not an AAPT member... a code should be provided.

Divisions: There are 2 divisions for students...

  • Division 01 -
    This is for students taking their first course in physics.  The level of the course does not matter. Students taking AP Physics have an advantage in depth of material, but students in non-AP curriculum have an advantage of potentially discussing other topics on the contest that do not appear in the AP curriculum.
  • Division 02 -
    This is for students taking their 2nd physics course (or more)... OR students wishing a challenge... so anyone can take Div. 02

Regions: Some BIG news for 2015... there is a substantial rearrangement of the Regions...
partly because of a new arrangement with ASDAN China resulting in the influx of many new competing schools...
partly from growth within certain regions making for a huge imbalance of the number of schools competing per region.
01    Specialized Schools of Science, Mathematics, and Technology (NCSSSMST members, e.g.)
02    Canadian Provinces and Territories
03    Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
04    New Jersey    
05    New York, Maryland
06    Ohio, Pennsylvania
07    Delaware, District of Columbia, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Virginia, West Virginia
08    Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska, Wisconsin
09    Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Trinidad and Tobago, Virgin Islands
10    Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Tennessee

11    Texas
12    California with zip codes <= 92500
13    California with zip codes >  92500
14    Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and Others
15    North China: Beijing, Tianjin, Hebei, Inner-Mongolia, Shanxi (山西), Shandong, Heilongjiang, Jilin, Liaoning
16    South China: Guangdong, Guangxi, Fujian, Hainan
17    East China: Shanghai, Zhejiang, Jiangsu
18    Central China: Hunan, Hubei, Anhui, Jiangxi, Henan    
19    West China: Chongqing, Sichuan, Yunnan, Guizhou, Shanxi(陕西), Gansu, Qinghai, Tibet, Xinjiang, Ningxia

  • For more details and information about the PhysicsBowl, please contact AAPT's Programs department at 301-209-3340 or programs@aapt.org